Important Milestone

1967  –  His  Majesty Jigme Dorji Wangchuk, the Third King of Bhutan commanded the Health Department to introduce Traditional Medicine Services in the country.
1968   –  Established an Indigenous Dispensary at Dechencholing, Thimphu.

1971   –  Started on the job Training Programme for Menpa as per the 32nd  National  Assembly Resolution, Article Number 11  at the Indigenous Dispensary

1978   –  Started Drungtsho Training Programme as per the Royal Command of  His Majesty Jigme Singye Wangchuck, the Fourth King of Bhutan

1979   –  Dispensary was upgraded as the Indigenous Hospital and shifted  to the present site in Kawang Jangsa from  Dechencholing.

–  First Traditional Medicine Unit was established in Trashigang District.

1982   –  Started mechanized production of Traditional Medicines with support from the  World Health Organization (WHO)

1988   –  Indigenous Hospital was upgraded as the National Institute of Traditional  Medicine with support from an Italian NGO  (DISVI)

1992   –  The Training Centre was shifted from Dechencholing to Kawang Jangsa.

1996   –  Instituted Revolving Fund for Pharmaceutical and Research Unit to ensure sustainability of traditional medicine  production.

1997   –  Established Pharmaceutical and Research Unit with support from  European Union.

1998   –  National Institute of Traditional Medicine was upgraded as the Institute of  Traditional Medicine Service with the following functional units:

– National Institute of Traditional Medicine

– National Traditional Medicine Hospital

– Pharmaceutical and Research Unit

– Created the post of Director for Traditional Medicine Services

2001  –  Completed the establishment of Traditional Medicine Unit in all 20 Districts.

2003  –  National Institute of Traditional Medicine became one of the Founding Members of the Royal University of Bhutan

2008  –  National Institute of Traditional Medicine formally became part of the Royal  University of Bhutan after signing the Memorandum of Understanding between  the  Ministry of Health and the Royal University of Bhutan

2011  –  Royal University of Bhutan is delinked from the Royal Civil Service Commission  and became as an Autonomous Organization through an Executive Order of the Prime Minister of Bhutan

2013  –  National Institute of Traditional Medicine is delinked from the Royal  University of  Bhutan and became part of the newly established University of Medical  Sciences of Bhutan as Faculty of Traditional Medicine

–  Created the Department of Traditional Medicine Services under the Ministry of  Health

2015 – Launched the Khesar Gyalpo University of Medical Sciences of Bhutan.